Ballon d’Or Winners List: 2021 Power Rankings

The Ballon d’Or, the oldest and most renowned prestigious individual football award, is given annually by the French weekly magazine France Football to the best football player in the world. The prize is determined by a mix of journalistic votes, national team captains’ votes, and coach votes.

In 2020, the Ballon d’Or will return, with football’s greatest stars competing for the sport’s highest individual award. The 65th prize will be presented in 2021.

The question is, who has the most significant influence in this year’s contest based on the candidates’ past achievements and forecasts of what will likely happen in 2021.

During the last decade and a half, football fans have been used to watching Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi dominating the Ballon d’Or competition. Lionel Messi has been awarded it six times, and Cristiano Ronaldo has been granted it five times. They’ve both moved new clubs Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) and Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain) in the same transfer window. They have overwhelmed it more than anybody else.

Power Rankings

The final list of 30 names will be released in October. When is the Ballon d’Or nominees? It will be narrowed to a final shortlist of three, closer to the event, which will take place on 5 December 2021. The list of steady performers and favorites to win this year’s tournament is long. It includes other impressive candidates such as Lewandowski, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Kylian Mbappe.

  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Federico Chiesa (Juventus)

Ballon d’Or Winners List

2020not awarded
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007Kaká BrazilMilan
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkrainMilan
2003Pavel NedvědCzech RepublicJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar MatthäusGermanyInternazionale
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlandsMilan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo RossiItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia Mönchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsAjax
1970Gerd MüllerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyMilan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool

Ballon d’Or 2021 live stream and TV channel

Ceremony Date: Sunday, 5 December 2021

Venue: TBD

TV channel: TBD

Ballon d’Or Betting Odds

There is lots of speculation as to who will win the 2021 Ballon d’Or. The bookies are keeping favorites Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo fronting the pack. Raheem Sterling and Harry Kane are in line for the award after impressive showings for England at Euro 2020 and the 2021 Copa America respectively.

Lionel Messi1/3
Robert Lewandowski7/1
N’Golo Kante8/1
Kevin de Bruyne16/1
Cristiano Ronaldo16/1
Harry Kane20/1
Kylian Mbappe33/1
Romelu Lukaku33/1
Raheem Sterling40/1
Watch the latest soccer highlights and football goals videos online from all the world major leagues.


Latest Highlights

Upcoming Matches