Ballon d’Or: Who becomes the winner?

Due to the coronavirus epidemic, there was no Ballon d’Or celebration in 2020 for the first time in history. Many championships were stopped or canceled ahead of schedule, and many football tournaments were postponed. However, the situation is entirely different this year.

The 2020 Ballon d’Or will still be awarded.

According to L’Equipe, the 2021 Ballon d’Or award ceremony will be held on December 5 in Paris. France Football will award two trophies on this day for the first time in history. The prize for 2020 will find its winner. The award is expected to go to Robert Lewandowski. This is certainly a moment to get a bet365 bonus code for new users for some guesses. 

Last year, the Bayern forward became the Bundesliga champion, won the UEFA Champions League, FIFA Club World Cup, became the owner of the UEFA Super Cup, won the German Cup and Super Cup. He scored 15 goals in the 2019/2020 UEFA Champions League, 34 goals in the German Bundesliga, and several publications named him Player of the Year. Robert will be the first Pole and fourth Bayern player to win the award. Former Bayern Munich Players Gerd Müller, Franz Beckenbauer (2), and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (2) were earlier presented with the trophy. 

Which player will be named Ballon d’Or winner in 2021?

Fans worldwide agreed that Argentina’s Leo Messi deserved the trophy after his win in Copa America. The Argentina superstar finally raised the long-awaited national team trophy over his head and won the Spanish Cup with Barcelona. Furthermore, Messi became the league’s top scorer in the 2020/2021 season with 30 goals. 

Lionel Messi has six titles in Ballon d’Or, but legendary Brazilian striker Ronaldo believes Lionel Messi should not win the seventh one this year. 

Without a doubt, my candidate for the Ballon d’Or is Benzema. The best striker, brutal level for ten years, and champion above all. Don’t you think?” explained Ronaldo, according to the Mirror. Since Zinedine Zidane won the trophy in 1998 after guiding France to World Cup success, no French player has won it. 

Messi’s main rival is Cristiano Ronaldo. He is vying for the sixth time in his career to win the trophy. 

“The figures and statistics linked to the name of Cristiano Ronaldo speak for him and should be enough in my opinion for him to win another Ballon d’Or. The absolutely remarkable total of 115 goals for the Portuguese national team makes him the record holder in men’s international football history. This year he broke this 15-year-old record, to which he can add that to being the top scorer in the history of professional football,” told Jorge Mendes, the Manchester United star’s agent.

While Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated the past 13 years, they aren’t the only sports legends who could win the golden award. 

Watch the latest soccer highlights and football goals videos online from all the world major leagues.


Latest Highlights

Upcoming Matches